Why I’m Here

I’ve been a writer all of my life, which now covers more decades than I’m eager to admit. Let’s just say I can remember when FDR died.  I was the editor of my high school newspaper and my college magazine. I have two degrees in journalism, one from Northwestern, the other from Columbia. I’ve worked as a journalist and a PR man, and I’ve been a free-lancer since the mid-1970s. I’ve published a lot of books, seen a lot of my work on television and I continue to plug away at it and I learn something new every day.

Words are my business, and in some ways, my life. And while I’ve been toiling away, filling up reams of blank paper and computer hard drives,  I’ve picked up some nuggets of useful information, a few tricks, a little bit of knowledge and, just possibly, a few pearls of wisdom–most of it about my profession and its practice, some about life itself. At any rate, I’m here to share what I know–or think I know–to offer hints, advice, criticism and praise and to answer questions.

I’m also here to talk about my work, past, present and future. I have a new novel on Amazon/Kindle, “The Revenge of the Plutocrats,” part of a series of David Nathan adventures set in the Roosevelt years. The first one in this series, “Final Crossing,” was published a few years ago, and another, “Lion at Bay” is in the works. I have more David Nathan ideas, probably enough for a lifetime, but I’m also finishing up another novel, completely unrelated to the series, “Reunion,” a novel of alternate history that supposes Abraham Lincoln decided to let the South secede, back in 1861.

As if that weren’t enough, I’m also piddling around with a time-travel fantasy involving Isaac Newton, and a murder mystery that, at the moment, isn’t much  more than a title “Eye Contact.”

So if you’re a writer or a reader, if you’re seeking help, information or nothing more than entertainment, welcome aboard. I plan to be adding content on a regular basis–weekly at least, daily if I possible. And I’m very interested in you–what you’re thinking, what you’re doing. where you’re going.

Harvey Ardman

About Harvey Ardman

I’m the author of twenty published books¬ including two spy thrillers, a popular history, and a number of ghost-written biographies, self-help books and similar non-fiction. I’ve also written many TV documentaries for PBS, the Discovery Channel and , A & E. In addition, I've written pieces for Business Week, the Atlantic Monthly and Esquire. I have a MS in journalism from Columbia Graduate School of Journalism and a BS in journalism from Northwestern University. My wife and I live in Maine.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why I’m Here

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

